Hello world!

Welcome to Bon Bons Food that is me . I have decided after photographing my dinners and cooking  for the last year that I really need a place to journal and outlet to express my passion and interest in cooking and food.

At high school I had an amazing home economics teacher Ms Andersen who planted a seed of passion for cooking. This has now fanned into a flame.

Ms Andersen from Rangiora High School, North Canterbury taught me how to:

Roast a red pepper: Cut your red pepper in half, de seed it and core it, roughly flatten it and place it on the top rack under a preheated grill. Once the skins are blistered remove and place into a plastic bag. Wrap tightly and leave to cool. You will then have sweet red peppers to use for a myriad of delicious dishes.

Make a Rustic Apricot Tart: I still use this pastry as my basic sweet pastry. I read somewhere recently if you have a pastry that works for you…stick with it!. This is so easy as it goes in the food processor. You really want to make this when the NZ Otago Apricot season is in full swing. You could compensate for a fruit in season.

280 grams Flour

1 Tablespoon icing sugar

1/2 tsp salt

130g rams cold unsalted butter

1 egg yolk

1/3 cup iced water

Place all ingredients in a food processor. Pulse a few times. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Process until combined. Form into a ball wrap and refrigerate.

Filling

1/2 cup ground almonds

4 Tablespoons flour

4 Tablespoons sugar

10-12 apricots halved and stoned

50 grams unsalted butter, flaked

1/3 cup caster sugar

apricot jam for glazing

1. Pre heat oven

2. Combine almonds, sugar, and flour

3. Roll out pastry to form an approx 32cm diameter or you could make it into smaller tarts which would look very pretty too.

4. Do not STRETCH the pastry though

5. Sprinkle almond mixture over pastry and arrange the apricots on top.

6. Turn up the pastry to form a border, Scatter with flakes of butter and sprinkle with caster sugar.

7. bake for 50-60 minutes until golden. 

8.Dust lightly with icing sugar and serve hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or fresh softly whipped cream.

I also remember when I was in the last year at High School I entered The Mediterranean food competition and competed against other high school students, it was held in Cashel Mall, Christchurch 1997. One of the judges was Micheal lee-Richards. I choose to make Herb Hazelnut Lamb fillets on French Baguette & Crushed Goats cheese filo cigars with an apricot & curry dipper (that sounds quite awful now) . My cooking back then was very voluptuous and creative. I presented in a large antique french looking cane basket (my Mum collected antiques) and layed gingham & lace tea towels in the basket and arranged the food in a very unrestrained way. A bit like you would a picnic. Once judging was underway it was quite clear my food and presentation was very unique and different from the other students who presented in a much more restrained way. White plate one piece of food and a garnish boring in my view. I did not win that day but I did get a highly commended!.

My home economics teacher encouraged me to look into food tertiary education but I also had developed a flair for photography and ended up choosing a career in Professional Photography. The photography became a 4 year business, however burnt me out and I took some time out to travel. On my OE return I landed what was meant to be a short-term job but went into a very succesful and enjoyable 7 year career in Online & Print Media Advertising Sales.

 I fell in love with a skinny man & good man, My Mum said don’t worry you can always fatten him up!. Cooking & food once again become my outlet and my (now) husband has been fattened on all my cooking.  The joke is I never half a recipe (I would not want to stuff the quantities up) so I always cook for six when there are only two of us. Hubby came from a family of five boys so he always feels like he should eat the leftovers so they don’t go to waste….though I think it is a bit of his Scottishness coming through also!.

I have so much to write about…please visit again and maybe you can learn something from me or leave a comment and maybe I can learn something from you.

Your fellow afficionado foodie x Bon

5 Comments

Filed under food

5 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Jess

    Great Blog! Love it!
    Bonnie’s food really is as creative and tasty as she describes.. X

  2. Tori

    My Beautiful Big Sister Bonnie!

    Your true calling. Cooking.

    Your cooking is truly DELICIOUS – breakfast, lunch and dinner, GOURMET cooking everyday of the week.

    If I am feeling like a treat I will just make a booking at my sister’s fancy HOME restaurant!! Be warned. You have to book in advance – it’s very popular! He he…

    So happy to see you have FINALLY made your blog after talking about it for so many months and inspired by the movie Julie & Julia!

    I look forward to seeing your yummy dishes photographed and seeing the yummy recipes that I can attempt to make myself..

    Especially those carrot muffins…..

    Mmmm hmm mmmm

    Love you Sis!!
    Tori Xx

  3. Tori

    Great post Bons!

  4. Jill Fasick

    Hi Bonnie

  5. Pat

    What a stunning journey I thoroughly enjoyed reading the recipes and notations.I loved the structure and the humour and you are a special person to have created this good luck and please do more

Leave a Reply

