Whats been cooking in my kitchen?

Whole wheat Semolina linguine tossed in a creamy pancetta, mushroom, garlic sauce with parmesan and parsley

 

I thought I would make a small gallery of some of my food & kitchen experiences from the last week. Dinner this week has been fast,tasty and for me relatively cheap. 

We have enjoyed these meals:  

 

French Provencal Chicken baked for 1 hour

 

 
 

  

Sesame satay beef with fresh egg noodles

 

 

  

 
 
 
 
 

Deli noodle salad with poached chicken and asian greens

 

 
 

  

  

I have also been appliance “mad” I worked out how to slice perfect onions, Julienne carrots, finely slice cabbage all at the touch of a button in my food processor. I have only owned this for four years, from the depths of my kitchen drawer came the instruction manual which I promptly educated myself on. 

I bought two of the most gorgeous organic red cabbages form Avoca Valley gardens last week so really needed to use them up. It was lunch time and I was hungry so decided to make a Lindsey Bareham recipe: It is a bit like Borscht (Please don’t be put off though it is delicious and very versatile)

Avoca Valley Cabbage

 

Red Cabbage with Tomatoes & Caraway seeds
500g red cabbage
2 Large red onions
2 Garlic cloves
1 lemon
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp caraway seeds
flaky sea salt
1 tsp  dried chilli flakes
400g tin chopped tomatoes
Halve, core & shred the cabbage. Soak in cold water while you prepare everything else. Then drain thoroughly. Peel, halve and finely slice the onion (I used my food processor with the Julienne blade) takes 20 seconds. Heat the oil in a heavy-bottomed pan over moderate heat and stir in the onions and caraway seeds. Season with one teaspoon os salt, reduce the heat slightly, cover and cook, stirring a couple of times, for 10 minutes. Stir in the cabbage, add another teaspoon of salt, stir again, cover and cook for a further 10 minutes. Add the lemon zest and chilli flakes. Return the lid and cook very slowly over a low heat for 30 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook covered 20 minutes. Add the juice from the lemon, then taste and adjust the seasoning with salt & pepper if desired. Serve hot, warm or cold and this keeps in the fridge for a good couple of days. Great with pasta, sausages or piled high on artisan bread and grilled with cheese.
I do not usually like “fusion” type foods, but this worked really well. I thickly sliced Rosemary Foccacia bread then piled on the cabbage and happened to have some delicious sweet milky australian mozzarella cheese which I cut thick and grilled over the top. I finished it off with a tsp of peppery olive oil. 

Red Cabbage with Tomatoes and Caraway

 

Russian Pizza

 

      The chilli gave it just enough heat to make it have a bit of kick and the caraway seeds and lemon zest and juice picks it up and makes it fresh. 

Baking, Hubby said he wanted a cheesecake!. Well I have never made a cheesecake in my life. I love a project,
so I found a great simple baked cheesecake recipe from UK  food celebrity cook Racheal Allen http://www.rachelallen.co.uk/recipes.html . We had some passionfruit syrup dressing which made a lovely sweet sauce over the top of it. My sister Tori who has just had a baby and has a breastfeeding appetite ate three pieces in a row!.  

Baked Cheesecake with passionfruit dressing

 

Little Mrs Thrifty then had half of the container of passionfruit syrup left and three rotten bananas and some sour cream in my fridge. Perfect I will make a Banana loaf with passionfruit lemon icing. 

Banana Loaf with passionfruit icing

 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I hope you feel hungry and inspired!. Get cooking!
Bon Bon xx                                                             
 

1 Comment

Filed under cooking

One response to “Whats been cooking in my kitchen?

  1. Jess

    You eat far to well!! All those dishes look so yummy! Ok I think you need to make another cheesecake as I missed out on this! Looks so good, well done!!
    My cassarole from last weeks blog, turned out great! and was very easy ans tasty!

    X

Leave a Reply

