Pizza Bonita

I have been M.I.A . from my blog but not from my kitchen. I have still had to eat and feed my family. What a joy to be writing again after so many months with no decadence of time or creative energy to spare  and discuss in-depth about my favourite topic – food. I am now on holiday and have a stack of recipes piling up I can not wait to cook…and then eat with the ones I love. I am now officially on holiday for the next month. It has been a luscious 28 degrees all day and they sun is now setting and has now turned the sky pink. 9:30pm

8:00pm Four pizza dough recipes were all competing for my attention. So I decided to take the best of all four and created this stunning, too gorgeous to eat, perfect home-made with love, kneaded with (post work frustrations) fusion pizza.

How good do these ingredients sound -PIZZA with El Ras Hanout spiced Lamb, courgettes, mint, basil, pine nuts and feta.  

 
 

 

Summer Evening Pizza

 

 Simple Pizza dough

400 grams flour

1 tablespoon instant yeast

1 teaspoon of salt

1 cup warm water

2 tablespoons olive oil

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. Combine the water and oil and pour onto the flour. Mix to form a soft dough, adding more water if necessary. Tip onto a lightly floured bench and knead until smooth and elastic. Place in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with clean tea towel and set aside in a warm place until double in size.

Preheat the oven to 210c (put your tray just above the middle of oven). Halve the dough and roll out on a lightly floured bench into circles (I did mine to fit my pizza stone, which I oiled).

Topping

 Lamb mince browned off in heavy based pan with tablespoon of el ras hanout. Be generous. Sea salt & pepper.

4 slim yellow & green courgettes peeled with potato peeler into skinny strips. combine with large handful of fresh chopped basil & mint, 6 tablespoons of olive oil & sea salt/cracked pepper.

200 grams  cows or goats feta

70 grams pine nuts

This will make two big pizzas and feed 6 people or 3 piggie people 😉 

Bake in the HOT oven for about 15 minutes until the base is crispy and  pizza is golden. Sprinkle with few more chopped herbs and drizzle with only the best extra virgin olive estate oil you own!.

Cooks note: (recipe inspired and part from Dish magazine issues 15, 32, 20 & 29). Gennaro’s Italian Year- Gennaro Contaldo, who was Jamie Olivers mentor also had a great section on pizza making.  I considered making a fresh summer salad but am glad I did not as this is very filling.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under babies, cooking, food, home cooking, recipes

Leave a Reply

