Recipes for the young and the young at heart

Yum Cake Mum!

Are you like me and flip through glossy cookbooks, imaging yourself cooking and eating the perfect food on each page. I always have a long shopping list of recipes I can not wait to try out. I have been gaining a fervent desire to learn and have been disciplined in following recipes to see the intended result of the cookbook author (who is quite often very qualified). Wow – I am forever amazed at the RESULTS!. Beautiful, delicious food and I am developing new skills and knowledge along the way. Take one of my favourite food writers Tessa Kiros (there is a long list of favourites) however I do have a couple of her cook books. I have been reading and cooking from Apples for Jam this summer holiday. The title is so subtle and it only dawned on me after cooking some of the recipes that this is really a children’s cookbook full of wonderful lively italian family meals very suitable for my 21 month old Daughter Lucia Belle but still delicious for the family to eat. I love how Tessa writes the food memories of her husband’s family and his childhood memories of what would eat growing up in Italy. Today I finally got around to making the BERRY AND BUTTERMILK CAKE. It reminded me of a berry scone mixture. I was thrilled it looked just like Tessas picture in her book. My Lucia Belle squealed with delight when she saw the cake turned out of the tin and onto the cooling rack. We both cut it warm and enjoyed it for a late afternoon tea.

Berry & Buttermilk Cake

1 Comment

Filed under babies, cooking, food, home cooking, photography, recipes

One response to “Recipes for the young and the young at heart

  1. Sister Tori

    Delish!! xxx

Leave a Reply

