Where to eat out in post earthquake 2 Christchurch

Post 22/2/2011 Christchurch Earthquake Under the Red Verandah now is rubble. Rebuild is happening now and After the Red Verandah has now opened from a cottage next door

Under the Red Verandah cafe and restaurant, Worcester Street, Christchurch pre earthquake

 

Just about all my favourite eating out establishments have been red stickered, meaning it is unsafe to enter as structurally the building is now deemed unsafe, yellow stickered meaning restricted entry only for essential access – does morning coffee count?or green stickered meaning no restriction of use (However I have noticed Deli cious cafe in Sumner has a green sticker and sadly for all its loyal locals has still not reopened, Maybe Poor Holly is too traumatised?). I have been keeping my ear to the ground and have heard these updates on some of my favourite eating/coffee out establishments.

1: Mediterranean Food Warehouse, Tuam Street, Christchurch  http://www.mediterraneanfoods.co.nz/Earthquake-Damage/c104/index.html?osCsid=c6c2b8ca9fe99b57429b923efc6c735d  They apparently lost a wall and were in the process of having a temporary wall put in. The restaurant is expected to re-open in approximately six months time!!. It will be a long winter without their gorgeous thin crust pizzas and panforte. The warehouse store should be open sooner.

2: A suburban Christchurch institution for Brunch, Lunch, coffee and cake. The beloved Under the Red Verandah cafe or as my family have nicknamed it UNDIES http://www.utrv.co.nz/ . After it was bulldozed a few days after the earthquake it has now managed to reopen on a much smaller scale in the shed next door and adjoining cottage property. I look forward to supporting them by popping in for a coffee next week.

I love to cook at home but I also love to have time out from my kitchen bench and relaxing dining out. Everyone I have been speaking with in Christchurch are struggling with the anxiety of cabin fever. With limited options of places to go It feels like living in a rural town with one cafe, one supermarket (if you are lucky) only open. I am looking forward to supporting all my favourite cafe reopening and seeing them get cranking again!.

2 Comments

Filed under babies, cooking, earthquake, food, home cooking, organic, photography, recipes

2 responses to “Where to eat out in post earthquake 2 Christchurch

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s
    tough to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this. In addition, the
    blog loads super quick for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

  2. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?

    My site addresses a lot of the same subjects as
    yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from
    each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

