The city girl moves to the country

I adored living here for 7 years, I have my parents to thank for providing this very special family home as it was in this nurtured environment I discovered my passion for food and cooking amongst other things. Terrace Cottage of Woodside Road is situated in the picturesque foothills of Oxford, North Canterbury, New Zealand on a quaint 3 acres. Originally the school masters house circa 1870’s, Terrace Cottage had an extensive renovation and addition in the 1980’s to a 300 sqm floor plan. We had a constant stream of friends and family as our guests visiting from around Auckland and overseas. There were gatherings and parties with delicious feasts prepared , this was a big, happy social home and never was there a shortage of great home cooked food and full baking tins.

  Being in my informative teenage year of 13 and moving from Auckland city (population 1,000,000) to rural Oxford (population 3,000) to say it was a shock was an understatement, I cried for a year. However what a great move my parents made. The only excuse for getting bored in Oxford was a lack of imagination. I creatively flourished, writing plays and short scripts, cooking, dancing, performing, acting, photography, art, exploring, river parties, bonfires,  friday youth group nights & river swimming with all my Oxford best friends.

You could easily spot the newly arrived townies, like me; walk up to electric fence hold on with both hands! argh. I learnt quickly.

There was a joke in Oxford that a few of my best girlfriends and I shared, let’s get t-shirts printed `I married someone who lived at the end of Tram RD” eg:Christchurch. We all joked (and secretly feared) we would end up marrying a farmer and never get out! eg:leave Oxford.

You can take the girl out of the city, but you cant take the city out of the girl!

Oxford, North Canterbury now can boast of its most famous resident,  New Zealand’s famous cook and food writer Jo Seager’s cook school, cafe and shop. http://joseagar.com

To find out more about Oxford   http://www.oxfordnewzealand.co.nz/

5 Comments

Filed under cafes, cooking, food, home cooking, photography, recipes, travel

5 responses to “The city girl moves to the country

  1. Ness

    Reminiscing on country life? So am I. We lived a bit further North from Oxford. A favourite memory, we used to put both hands on the electric fence for laughs and someone would hold onto our ankles and thought it was funny that you could feel the shocks pass your body to the ground. Those were the days. I guess the farm we lived on didn’t have the fences turned up enough, mind you sheep were scared of anything.

    • A bit of Wednesday night nostalgia for sure! 🙂 Living in the country is pretty special I think. I think cow pushing was quite popular with some teenagers I knew. Wait till they were asleep and push them over? (Animal activists would be up in arms) I never tried it, thank goodness. I did get chased by a big bull across a paddock that was my most near to being flattened experience.

  2. Your family home is really. I too moved from a large city in Texas to the country just when I started high school. Looking back…it was a wonderful experience.

Leave a Reply

