From the burnt palm of my hand to lovely leftovers

I burnt my hand on sunday night, I picked up a hot pan handle that had come straight out of a 200º oven. I was desperate for icy cold pain relief, a small plastic container of frozen beetroot risotto came to my aid. After 4 hours of clutching the palm of my hand to the frozen beetroot container I took some frozen mince and hugged it to sleep on my sore, burnt hand. I know it sounds fairly gross, as In the morning I was hunting around the bed for the frozen mince much to my husbands horror. With no recollection I managed to sleep walk in the middle of the night and place the partly defrosted mince back in the fridge!. Very bizarre, I know. It worked though, to my relief my burn has healed really fast.

I made this most earthy beetroot risotto back in June and made so much I froze the leftovers. Did you know you can freeze risotto, defrost it, then either shape it into little patties or much quicker; dump the whole lot into a fry pan and stir fry it with a table-spoon of olive oil. After a hectic multi tasking Career/Mother/Wife working day, dumping defrosted leftovers into a hot frying pan seemed like a great idea!.

I can never quite bring myself to buy takeaways, I get hit with takeaway buying remorse. The guilt and then disappointment, for their lack of taste and the lethargy that overcomes once eaten. That is what happens when you eat good food, you become a terrible food snob.

Little Meatballs, home-made tomato pasta sauce, beetroot risotto & freshly grated parmesan cheese.

This recipe is hardly culinary inspiration and I more like culinary apathy as far as I am concerned, but it sure beat takeaways eg fish and chips or a salty, greasy stir fry.

Recipe for fellow fatigued weekday cooks

RECIPE Meatballs

Beef mince , Sea salt, pepper – combine

  1. Shape into little balls and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes
  2. Pan fry in a little olive oil, Drain on absorbent paper.

I have been finding this simple home-made stock cupboard tomato pasta sauce so handy. All you will require is a 400 gram can of diced italian tomatoes, garlic clove, teaspoon sugar, sea salt, 4 tablespoons olive oil, (Basil optional)

  1. Pour olive oil into a small saucepan on medium heat, add squashed & peeled garlic clove for a few minutes till it sizzles and you can smell the garlic. Take care you do not burn it. Pour in the can of tomatoes and juice. add sea salt, sugar to taste. Cook over medium to low heat for approx 10-15  minutes till the olive oil has amalgamated into the tomatoes and you have a thick chunky tomato sauce. Add fresh herbs eg;basil if desired.

You will never buy bottled pasta sauce again. This is how the italians make their pasta sauce in a hurry. It is so simple.

I then piled the risotto onto a plate, spooned over my meatballs, scattered the chunky tomato sauce over and sprinkled with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

4 Comments

Filed under cooking, food, home cooking, recipes

4 responses to “From the burnt palm of my hand to lovely leftovers

  1. The important thing to remember is that the nature of an oven is that it’s hot. Hope your hand is ok! I think it looks really delicious and is obviously far superior to any sort of take away or fast food! Much more than culinary apathy.

    • I guess when I spend as much time I do in front of my stove and oven I have escaped from having too many burns. Thanks for your comments Frugal feeding!

  2. Oh my! I can’t believe you burnt your hand. I have too. I was making soca, and drinking Rose, a lot of Rose, and I just grabbed the cast iron, no protection at all. It was awful. I hope your hand is healing well.

    • Yes, pretty much the same!. I forgot to mention red wine was involved. No thought and picked up the handle. Suprisingly it has healed really fast this time, Last time the burn went really hard, dry and itchy. Burn cream works well. They sell it at the pharmacy.

Leave a Reply

