Baked scottish porridge

Baked scottish porridge with stewed fruit and natural creamy yoghurt

For days we have had severe weather warnings of an imminent polar blast weather event that was due to hit New Zealand. Winter wonderland has arrived and we awoke this morning to a wildly beautiful snow storm. last night in anticipation of a cold morning I was super organised and prepped a baking dish with my Scottish cut porridge oats, nuts, vanilla & cinnamon and left them covered on the bench. Once Lucia was awake we crept downstairs to her delight of the snow outside. I added the cream and milk and put it in the oven.

Ingredients  135g porridge oats, 75g roughly chopped hazelnuts (without skins) or pecans, 75g chopped figs or sultanas, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 3 tablespoons of brown sugar, 650ml milk, 200ml cream.

To Serve Stewed fruit

Preheat the oven 150°/gas mark 2. Scatter the oats, nuts, dried fruit, vanilla, cinnamon and a pinch of salt into a baking dish. Add 1 tablespoon of the sugar and toss it all together. Pour in the milk and cream and bake for 45 minutes.

Sprinkle with the remaining sugar and put back in the oven for 15 minutes. Serve with Stewed fruit.

Serves 6

Picture of the Recipe from the book

The recipe came from my brand new Bill Granger cook book Bills Basics http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bills-Basics-Bill-Granger/dp/1844008436

I am in love with this book. If you have never cooked from a Bill Granger recipe then this is the book for you. If you have cooked a Bill Granger recipe and own one of his books. You can give them all away and replace them with this one book as it is a perfect refined collection of all Bills favourite recipes.

We visited BILLS cafe in Woolhara in Sydney a few years ago for coffee. He famous in Sydney for creating a breakfast cafe culture in the 1990’s. Bill now has a television cooking show, loads of cook books, a restaurant in Japan with rumour of one to open in London. I always have confidence that any recipe of Bills will turn out a dream. He taught me how to make perfect scrambled eggs after all. Get the book!.

By the way I have only just discovered AMAZON. I know took me awhile to realise what amazing value AMAZON is when it comes to buying cook books. I bought 3 cookbooks from AMAZON and got FREE DELIVERY to New Zealand and it only cost $58 kiwi dollars for all three books!. I still feel like I have stolen them at that price. To buy these books in New Zealand at the bookshop I would have paid at  least $60-85 per book!.

2 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cafes, cooking, food, recipes

2 responses to “Baked scottish porridge

  1. Thanks for stopping by our blog. 🙂
    This looks yummy and will have to try it. I can see my little one liking it.
    I am quite a Bill Granger fan!

  2. InMyBibi'sKitchen

    I know this is an old post, and the weather is not even cold out here yet BUT I have been trying to use chilly mornings as an excuse to make some heavier comfort foods just as a reason to get off a healthier summer eating plan (which probably is better to stick with) anyways I tried this recently, came out delicious. I made a few substitutions and was not 100% with measurements but still came out yummy, and so easy because it went into the oven!

Leave a Reply

