Change of season

I guess I have been suffering from food boredom. My jaded palate has not
been craving anything at all. The thought of cooking has been giving me food
fatigue. I guess the most enthusiastic chefs or foodies all go through these
seasons. I put this down to too much cooking, I have overdone it and have been
falling back on my favourite tried and true recipes. Burrittos, Roast chicken, rissotto,
simple spaghetti cabarnora made with fresh eggs, bacon and parmesan cheese and lot of fish dishes!. Sorry no photos, the meals have not even warranted a photo. When my husband says at the end of the meal ‘that was a bit simple’ I know he has been far too spolit with decadence night after night. With my spring fitness motivation I also decided It was time to make some salads for dinner.

Lamb, Barley & spinach salad

We have been having an early spring with some lovely days in the 15-18 degrees. Let me tell you that is like a blessing after a few months of cold, wind, rain & snow. So all this food fatigue has been swept away by some warmer days. I have been working ALOT, and have now managed to get back into my training routine. I have an amazing trainer Jess Ford who runs weight resistance circuit style girls only group training 3 mornings a week in Sumner. So I have been getting up at 5:35am and have enjoyed getting my sluggish butt back into some vigorous training.  Post feb earthquake my favourite Bikram hot yoga was closed. I have since discovered www.hotflowyoga.co.nz and went along to a class today. I loved it the room was only heated to 36ºc and the class was a power vinyasa style yoga. In true yogi style I came home with the inspiration to make a simple red lentil, carrot, pumpkin, sweet potato soup. I used my freshly made chicken stock as a base, it makes such a huge difference to bought stock. The soup was thick and delicious and I felt as if I was nourishing my body just by eating it. The change of season is welcome with so much to look forward to…aparagus, strawberries, blueberries, stonefruit, tomatoes and a bounty of courgettes.

2 Comments

Filed under cooking, food, lamb, recipes

2 responses to “Change of season

  1. Love it Bonnie!! Yes, Greg, you are far too spolit with decadent food!! x

  2. Oh how different we are with our seasons. Our fall leaves have just been replaced by our first snowfall of the season. I do think I might try you nice chicken dish that would go nicely with this changing weather.

Leave a Reply

