caramelised nuts – walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds

Salty, sweet, crunchy and utterly moorish. I am so proud of myself for finally getting around to making these, now I must stop eating them. I never realised just how easy it is to caramelise nuts.

I have been in love with caramelised nuts for quite a long time, I love caramelised hazelnuts sprinkled over a hot smoked salmon, roasted beetroot & vinagarette leafy salad greens. Today I plan to break these up (once I stop munching on them) and scatter them over a roasted beetroot salad and serve that alongside my onion, thyme and parmesan tart.

I also think these would be just plain lovely served with drinks on Christmas eve in a little bowl. You may like to give everyone their own bowl!.

RECIPE

ratio is up to you to decide, this is how I did it.

  • Two handfuls or so of walnuts and sliced almonds
  • 2 tablespoons of Extra virgin olive oil
  • 3-4 tablespoons of soft brown sugar
  • teaspoon of sea salt or to taste
  • big pinch of cinnamon
  1. heat olive oil gently over a low to medium heat (be careful not to burn)
  2. add brown sugar, sea salt, cinnamon and stir together
  3. add the nuts, cook gently until everything gets thick and sticky.
  4. spread nuts out on to baking paper to cool for ten minutes.
  5. break up into pieces.
6 Comments

Filed under food

6 responses to “caramelised nuts – walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds

  1. A wonderful recipe. Have a Merry Christmas.

  2. Aha !! Nice!! Wishing you a very Happy New Year!

  3. Chef Randall

    This looks great. I love nuts. I have a recipe for white chocolate, almonds and cranberries called “White Chocolate Almond Bark”. Thanks again for stopping by my blog. Notice you are from New Zealand. I have 2 followers from Australia, and 2 from the UK. Stop around again later and leave your e-mail to receive new posts, it’S FREE. savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

