The downside of being a fantastic cook

I have a terribly wonderful ‘problem’. I am 23 weeks pregnant with my second child, which is the wonderful bit. Now the terrible problem part, I have been having cravings. I so love cooking and (pat, pat on the back) am becoming such an accomplished home cook, am now capable of cooking things that really should not be eaten at such nocturnal hours. Take middle of last week when I had the Wednesday night 8:30pm vision of a banana split with french vanilla ice cream and home made hot dark chocolate sauce with toasted pecan nuts. Easy, there was some 72% dark Ghana Whittaker’s chocolate in the drawer, cream in the fridge. I MADE IT. it was so quick, decadent and hit the craving spot. Image

RECIPE – from my favourite Rachel Allen cook book Home cooking.

Dark chocolate sauce

75g dark chocolate, chopped

100ml pouring cream

Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl sitting over a saucepan of gently simmering water. Whisk in the cream to give a smooth melted sauce and then keep warm in the bowl until ready to serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, food

Leave a Reply

